Blue Sky Riders Announce New Album Docuseries


Photo Credit: Joe Newberry.

The Blue Sky Riders, a wonderful country-rock group with Kenny Loggins at the helm, just announced a new docuseries, All Access Passproviding fans with an inside look at the creative process behind their upcoming album, Why Not, which is officially coming out in 2016.

Stay tuned because when Why Not is release in 2016, I’m going to interview Kenny Loggins, Georgia Middleman and Gary Burr. In the meantime, the full press release announcing the details of the Blue Sky Riders’ All Access Pass is below, as well as the band’s latest tour dates and a video.

Nashville, TN —Following the success of their critically-acclaimed debut album, Finally Home (released: January 2013), Blue Sky Riders are ready to ride again with All Access Pass, a behind-the-scenes docuseries, which chronicles the writing and recording of their highly anticipated sophomore album, Why Not (expected to release in 2016). In celebration of the band’s Kickin’ It Back Tour this September, memberships to view All Access Pass can be purchased at a special sale price of $25 during the month of September through their official website:

Thanks to the supporters who contributed to Blue Sky Riders’ successful Kickstarter campaign, Kenny Loggins, Georgia Middleman and Gary Burr were able to fulfill their dream of recording Why Not by embracing today’s crowd-funding and social media-influenced world. The band takes it a step further with All Access Pass and allows us a glimpse into the trials and tribulations, the joys and pains of the trio’s creative process. Once again, Loggins, Middleman and Burr deliver on what the audience has grown to love them for: honest lyrics, beautiful harmonies, and amazing music. As The New York Times said, “The three songwriters have found an unusually comfortable fit.”

Self-produced by Blue Sky Riders and written in Loggins’ living room in Santa Barbara, CA, All Access Pass documents the award-winning songwriters as they create and record original compositions on which Kenny, Georgia and Gary take turns singing lead vocals. “I don’t think I have ever heard Georgia sing better than on the beautiful, ‘Nothing Matters More Than Love,’” says Gary, “the same goes for Kenny on ‘No Fool Like An Old Fool.’ He is stunning and heart wrenchingly committed to that song.” Georgia chimes in, “I love ‘I’m Lucky Like That’ because it’s so dang sexy…classic Kenny Loggins!”  As for Kenny, “I’m really fond of, ‘Thank You (For Reminding Me),’ a tune we recorded with The Kickstarter Chorus. It was a special experience to share with contributors who, literally, helped make this album.”

A limited number of special-edition pre-release physical CDs of Why Not were pressed to thank Blue Sky Riders’ Kickstarter contributors. The few copies remaining will be available for purchase at the band’s live shows in September and on Blue Sky Riders’ official website ( while supplies last.

In conjunction with their successful Kickstarter campaign, Kenny, Georgia and Gary held the Kickin’ It Back Opening Act Contest to give back and help budding artists make their own dreams come true. The pair of winning entrants will open for the band at two of their September performances. Joining Blue Sky Riders at City Winery, Nashville, TN (September 11) is Ashley Leone, followed by J. Klein, who will open for the band at The Coach House in San Juan Capistrano, CA (September 25).

Full Kickin’ It Back Tour schedule is as follows:

  • 9.9.15: Nashville, TN @ City Winery 
  • 9.11.15: Nashville, TN @ City Winery  (Opening Act: Ashley Leone)
  • 9.15.15: New York City, NY @ City Winery 
  • 9.16.15: New York City, NY @ City Winery 
  • 9.18.15: Livermore, CA @ Livermore Valley PAC – Bankhead Theatre
  • 9.19.15: Malibu, CA @ Pepperdine University / Smothers Theatre
  • 9.20.15: Poway, CA @ Poway Center for the Performing Arts
  • 9.25.15: San Juan Capistrano, CA @ The Coach House  (Opening Act: J. Klein)
  • 10.24.15: Frankfort, KY @ Grand Theatre

2 thoughts on “Blue Sky Riders Announce New Album Docuseries

  1. My wife and I got our kickstarter early copy of “Why Not” and we’ll be seeing BSR for the first time tomorrow night at the Nashville City Winery. Right now I’d give the edge to “Finally Home” but that could change the more we listen to “Why Not”. We also got the debut cd of Middleman Burr, “I Like the Sound of That”. Love it. We’ve seen Gary & Georgia many times at the Bluebird Cafe. They’re both incredibly talented singers and songwriters.

    • Very cool, Bob! I got my early copy of the album too, and it’s very good so far. Have a great time at the concert! I hope to see BSR live next year.

Leave a ReplyCancel reply