Doug Bradley’s Spinechillers Volume 2


Doug Bradley’s Spinechillers series is unique in that it provides a modern take on classic horror literature, read by one of the genre’s most iconic figures. The first volume was excellent, and Doug Bradley’s Spinechillers Volume 2 provides listeners with another healthy dose of horror fun.

Spanning two hours and thirty-seven minutes, this collection is comprised of twisted tales dating from 1850 to 1920. You’ll find the following stories in Doug Bradley’s Spinechillers Volume 2:

  • The Dream Woman (1855) — Wilkie Collins
  • The Oval Portrait (1850) — Edgar Allan Poe
  • The Ring of Thoth (1890) — Arthur Conan Doyle
  • The Tomb (1920) — H.P. Lovecraft

Certain writers make multiple appearances throughout the Spinechillers series, including Edgar Allan Poe and H.P. Lovecraft, and for good reason. Their work is still influential to this day, spanning a myriad of mediums. This volume exposed me to the work of Wilkie Collins, an English novelist, playwright, and short story writer best known for The Woman in White (1859) and The Moonstone (1868). That’s one of the things I love about Doug Bradley’s Spinechillers: the discovery process that happens every time I listen to a new volume, whether it be the author or the story itself.

The high bar that the first volume set as it pertains to audio quality and design is replicated here. Doug Bradley deftly narrates all of these tales, and he does so with reverence and passion. In this fast-paced world we live in, it’s nice to have a short and sweet audiobook that’s filled with stories that can be quickly and easily enjoyed. There are a total of 13 volumes in Doug Bradley’s Spinechillers series and if the first two are any indication of what the future volumes are like, then we’re all in for a delightful treat.

Leave a ReplyCancel reply