Doug Bradley’s Spinechillers Volume 5


Halloween season is upon us, and I’m back with my latest review in Doug Bradley’s Spinechillers series. This time, I’m reviewing Volume 5. So, what can you expect from Doug Bradley’s Spinechillers Volume 5? In a word, greatness.

This brilliantly produced audiobook series continues to celebrate the best of classic horror literature. As with the previous volume, we’re treated to a poem. This time it’s “For Annie” by Edgar Allan Poe, and it closes out the audiobook. Aside from this, you’ll find work from Ambrose Bierce and Arthur Conan Doyle to enjoy.

Here’s a rundown of what’s included in Doug Bradley’s Spinechillers Volume 5:

  • The Death of Halpin Frayser (1893) — Ambrose Bierce
  • The Fall of the House of Usher (1839) — Edgar Allan Poe
  • How it Happened (1925) — Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Lot No. 249 (1892) — Arthur Conan Doyle
  • For Annie (1849) — Edgar Allan Poe

As I write this, the film adaptation of “The Fall of the House of Usher,” starring Vincent Price, is on Shudder. I’ve heard only good things about the movie, so I look forward to checking it out.

Doug Bradley’s Spinechillers Volume 5 is another winner. It contains five wonderfully narrated stories by legendary masters of prose that are sure to delight you. This collection, along with the others, is the perfect way to enjoy this Halloween season.

Leave a ReplyCancel reply