Rod Stewart – Live in Philadelphia

Rod Stewart LiveRod Stewart was the first concert I ever attended, and on December 11 I saw him live for the fourth time. As always, he put on a terrific show. While not quite as powerful as it was back in the 1990s, Rod’s voice still sounds great and he knows how to wrap himself around a song and convey emotion like very few singers do. He also jumped, danced and kicked soccer balls around the stage – dressed in dapper attire, of course – with such energy and enthusiasm that it’s hard to believe Rod’s almost 69.

Steve Winwood opened the show with an unremarkable set list that included only two hit songs: “Gimme Some Lovin'” and “Higher Love.” He didn’t perform “Valerie,” “Back in the High Life Again,” “While You See a Chance,” “Roll With It,” or “The Finer Things.” When you’re an opening act, you have to knock people’s socks off and give them what they want. Winwood did neither. Yes, he’s a great musician and performed well, but there was much left to be desired.

Thankfully, Rod knows how to work a crowd and please his fans. He kicked off the show with two upbeat hits and rolled into classic material, including deep cuts like “Sweet Little Rock & Roller” and “I’d Rather Go Blind.” Rod also highlighted his new album, Time, with two great tracks: “Can’t Stop Me Now” and “Brighton Beach.” He also brought out his daughter, Ruby, to sing a song on her own, “Just One More Day,” and one with him, “Forever Young.” However, the highlight of the show was Rod singing “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” while backed by an orchestral ensemble, with snow falling down from the ceiling.

If you have a chance to see Rod Stewart live, go. He’s an iconic singer that still puts on an excellent show that won’t leave you disappointed. He had the crowd on its feet and kept everyone dancing and singing along from start to finish. He wasn’t inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame twice (once as a solo artist and the second time as lead singer of the Faces) by accident; Rod was honored two times because of his spectacular body of work and legendary live performances. Do yourself a favor and buy a ticket next time he’s in town. You’ll have a blast.

Below is the set list from the show and four videos I shot. Enjoy!

Set List

  1. “This Old Heart Of Mine”
  2. “Having a Party”
  3. “You Wear It Well”
  4. “Stay With Me”
  5. “Tonight’s The Night”
  6. “Some Guys Have All the Luck”
  7. “Rhythm of My Heart”
  8. “Just One More Day” (sung by Ruby Stewart)
  9. “Forever Young” (sung with Ruby Stewart)
  10. “The First Cut Is the Deepest”
  11. “Brighton Beach”
  12. “Have I Told You Lately”
  13. “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”
  14. “Can’t Stop Me Now”
  15. “Sweet Little Rock & Roller”
  16. “I’d Rather Go Blind”
  17. “Proud Mary” (sung by Rod Stewart’s backup singers)
  18. “You’re In My Heart”
  19. “Hot Legs”
  20. “Maggie May”
  21. “Da Ya Think I’m Sexy?”

Music Review: Rod Stewart’s “Time” Has Arrived

Rod Stewart_TimeRod Stewart’s first album of new material in nearly 20 years is here. Considering the raspy rocker recently released his memoir, Rod: The Autobiography, the album’s title, Time, is appropriate. During his time, Stewart has sold hundreds of millions of albums, been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame twice and won a Grammy.

Time is a solid effort by Stewart that every fan should check out. While it’s not perfect, the majority of the album is very good. Below is my track-by-track review:

She Makes Me Happy

  • With an infectious chorus and a joyous vocal, this sets the tone of what’s to come. While it has a modern sound, the violins and mandolin give it that classic Stewart sound fans have come to love.

Can’t Stop Me Now

  • The shoe-stomping beat and visual lyrics of this song makes it similar to “Rhythm of My Heart.” Being that it’s about Stewart’s struggle to become a successful musician, it’s an inspirational message that’s sure to resonate with many people. 

It’s Over

  • This is my favorite song on Time. I’m a sucker for ballads, and this is as good as it gets. The lyrics are about Stewart going through a divorce and the pain that came with it. His voice sounds great on this track and the chorus is haunting. This is one I could listen to again and again. It’s that good. 

Brighton Beach 

  • According to Stewart, this is the one that started it all; it made him realize he could still write a quality song. It’s an extremely mellow, acoustic number with beautiful lyrics. It’s very different from the previous songs but still a worthy addition to the album.

Beautiful Morning

  • Having bought Stewart’s Christmas album, I was granted a free download of this song months ago. However, it’s been remixed since then. Now it includes more guitar, additional drums, and the vocals have been adjusted a bit. Regardless of the changes, this song is fantastic. It’s easily one of the happiest pieces of music I’ve ever heard.

Live The Life

  • This is a nice, mid-tempo number that’s perfectly suited for Stewart’s voice. The chorus is simple, positive and enjoyable. And the song sounds as if it could have easily fit on one of his classic albums from the 1970s. 

Finest Woman

  • This song reminds me of “Hot Legs” with horns. It’s sung with gusto, the subject matter is a woman and the lyrics are pretty straight forward. But unlike “Hot Legs,” it’s not very good. It’s easily the weakest song on the album. 


  • “Time” is a soulful ballad featuring rich harmonies, solid guitar work and a great vocal by Stewart. This song gets the album back on track after the forgettable “Finest Woman.” 

Picture In a Frame 

  • Any time Stewart covers Tom Waits, you’re in for something special, and this song doesn’t disappoint. It’s a heartfelt, piano-driven song with gospel undertones. Simply beautiful. 

Sexual Religion

  • For fans of “Da Ya Think I’m Sexy?” and Rod Stewart’s 1980s material, this song is for you. It’s an up-tempo song that’s begging to be remixed into a dance track. With a catchy hook, a pulsing beat and a sexy sax solo, it’s one of the most memorable songs on the album and worth revisiting “over and over again.” 

Make Love to Me Tonight

  • Stewart has spoken a few times about wanting to record a country album and this song reflects that. Between the hand-clapping, fiddle and twangy vocal, I started to imagine Stewart singing the song in overalls on the porch of a farmhouse. But don’t take this the wrong way, it’s a wonderful song. And I think he’d do a terrific job with a country album. We’ll just have to wait and see if it comes to fruition. 

Pure Love

  • This heartfelt, piano-laden number closes out the standard version of the album. The orchestration on this song is gorgeous, especially the bridge, and despite its melancholic mood, “Pure Love” is a beautiful way to cap off Stewart’s long-awaited return to songwriting.

Corrina, Corrina

  • Considering how the blues influenced Stewart’s music as a youth, it’s fitting that the first bonus track is a cover song in this vein. It’s simple, bluesy and it features some nice harmonica work throughout. 


  • “Legless” is another original song by Stewart, and it’s a fun one. While it’s not brilliant, I’d argue that it’s better than “Finest Woman” and that it should have been included on the standard version of the album. 

Love Has No Pride

  • The “deluxe” version of the album ends with this signature Linda Ronstadt song. It’s a decent number, but it pales in comparison to the original material on Time

Below is the electronic press kit (EPK) for Time and a concert Rod Stewart recently performed at The Troubadour: